#107days: Happiness

I signed up to Day2 #107days to write something about happiness. Kind of a tall order in many ways. But then again, it ain’t. Which is pretty cool really…

Yesterday on the (we love) Phil Gayle show [available at 2.92 for 6 days] the Gman interviewed two DJs from Sting Radio about LB.

Paul Scarrott said “We had LB’s mum in and had a day of happiness on our radio show. We wanted to know about LB in the happy days.” And they did. It was a joyful two hours on Tuesday. And, as so often happens, it was the dudes who captured what really matters; the happy times.

LB may have been only 18 when he died, but he packed in about a billion years worth of happy times. We still hear new (and often hilarious) stories of his exploits from different people. We are always having “Do you remember when…? ” moments at home. Moments guaranteed to generate laughter. We have hours of home movie footage showing LB usually in a bundle of scrapping and playful siblings, completely surrounded by love. He had a contentment, for most of his life, that was peaceful, appealing and uncomplicated.

Some of our memories are on the pages of this blog. But most are in our hearts luckily and do a bloody brilliant job of generating little parcels of happiness.

To end, I’m going to re-post this short film that captures a snapshot of happy times with the dude. With a cracking soundtrack. It also includes the dude in his favourite outfit for about five years; an ELC police tabard, orange binoculars and the compulsory baseball cap (occasionally replaced by a disposable shower cap). I always smile at this picture, especially as he’s holding his shorts up so they don’t get wet. Love him.

6 thoughts on “#107days: Happiness

  1. Pingback: Video: we need to change how we support and see people with learning disabilities | The Social Issue

  2. We have to hang on to those happy memories.
    If I had a choice of course my beautiful son would still be here. I don’t have that option but, even if I had known he was going to die before me, I would still have chosen to have nearly 26 years with John in my world. Wordsworth felt much the same about the six years he had with his son.

  3. I loved the boy with the utmost love of which my soul is capable, and he is taken from me –
    yet in the agony of my spirit in surrendering such a treasure
    I feel a thousand times richer than if I had never possessed it.

    William Wordsworth, 1812
    On the death of his six year old son, Thomas

  4. Pingback: Epilepsy. | ldnursegonnabe's Blog

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.